StyxQuest Devlog #10

1/1/24 - StyxQuest v1.3 - The Long Stretch

(Back to Dev Blog)

Happy 2024! It's hard to believe that StyxQuest is more than 3 years old, even moreso that the final update has taken this long compared to the others. Part of me will miss working on this game. But at least I will be able to move on knowing I did everything I set out to do.

In terms of content, I'm about 77% done (based purely on how many maps are complete). The remaining 23% is a mixed bag, from updating sprites and fixing events to making the cutscnes. And making content for a special add-on. Combat has been balanced as much as possible, the hard mode bosses work as intended (AOS has gotten something special) and most of the cutscene assets are done.

Hopefully the Industria Update will be out before May, but it's hard to say. I'm going to be working on polishing my animation work and hopefully find a job, which may cause some issues; but I do aim to do a little work each day if possible. For now, though, I present to you the (optional) opening cutscene.

A special thanks to JulianMOCs for making the song used!

List of things to work on:

  • Fix events for redone maps
  • Make and implement cutscenes
  • Sprite fixes